Life Health Professional forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Sun Life rejects coverage for 9-year-old because of his ‘build’

Notify me of new replies via email
Ryan Smith | 10 Aug 2016, 08:15 AM Agree 0
Sun Life Financial is coming under fire for rejecting coverage for a 9-year-old because of his ‘build’ – despite the fact that the family doctor says the boy is in good health
  • Mitch Reynolds | 10 Aug 2016, 02:24 PM Agree 0
    I'm a manager with Sun Life Financial in the Career Sales Force, and I have to deal with underwriting decisions that are not great all the time. Often, with the intervention of the advisor, we can have decisions reviewed with a senior underwriter when a less experience person has made a snap decision. Underwriting is both a science and an art. There is a story to be told, and the advisor writing the application should be able to present odd and unusual cases in a way that the underwriter can properly evaluate them.

It is odd that a 9 year old has grown so fast and is 5'2" and 135 lbs already. This seems very large for his age. I would think this child is well outside normal growth rates for an 9 year old boy. He doesn't seem too overweight, just very big for his age. This might have thrown off a less experienced underwriter. I believe we should have asked for a doctor's report immediately, even though this adds a large cost to underwriting the application. The client has lots of business with Sun Life and deserves our best effort.